Tutorials!

New Orleans Christmas 2012-2464-2

Today’s tutorial topic: wildlife photography!

I have to say that I never done *true* wildlife photography – lots of zoo, aquarium, and lake stuff, but not true wildlife. I came across a great tutorial covering wildlife photography, which even covers the different animals you could encounter. The link is here: http://www.exposureguide.com/photographing-wildlife.htm.

In the same vein, I came across this article about a photographer attacked by a polar bear. Luckily the photography was in a protective box, so he was unharmed. The dangers of wildlife of photography! The link is here: http://www.picturecorrect.com/news/wildlife-photographer-has-very-close-encounter-with-a-polar-bear/. I would argue that this article also alerts you to the extreme environments one would have to endure for certain types of photography – I can’t say I would like sitting in the arctic tundra for days or even weeks on end getting shots of polar bears.

And finally, here is the link to the winners of the 2012 National Geographic Photo Contest. There were three categories: nature, people, places. The winners of each category and the honorable mentions are all listed with their work at this link: http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2013/01/winners-honorable-mentions-of-the-2012-national-geographic-photography-competition/.

I should have some new items in the portfolio section of the site before the end of the week, along with new blog posts featuring some pet portraiture and “wildlife” (zoo and aquarium) shots. The photo in this post was taken at the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas in New Orleans – it is a stingray emerging from the blackness. I love this shot; to me, the stingray kind of looks like the wardrobe from Disney’s Beauty and the Beast.

Have a wonderful day and happy snapping! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Tutorials!

  1. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your blog. You have some really great posts and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some
    articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please send me an e-mail if interested. Many thanks!

  2. 163066 943441Hi there. Quite cool internet site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your internet site and take the feeds additionallyI am glad to locate so considerably beneficial information appropriate here inside the post. Thanks for sharing 501510

Leave a Reply

