Inspiration in Memphis

Long time, no pictures! Apologies for the lack of activity – life has been very busy the past several months. I have taken a few photos in the meantime, but they were mainly personal interest things and not blog-worthy.

But that changed last weekend! I went up to Memphis for vacation and had a great time. I took a lot of photos and have chosen a few to present here.

The first four were taken at the Memphis Zoo. These are a bit “artsy” and not my typical style, but I really love the results. These were done in Lightroom 3 – I selected the backgrounds and any other objects I didn’t like and blew out (increased exposure and brightness) until the background appeared pure white. It didn’t take more than two layers of this technique to remove the background from the pictures. The hardest part is making a clean line around the subject – particularly when they are hairy animals!

IMG_4566

IMG_4592

IMG_4614-2

IMG_4631

Leave a Reply

